Automotive Lifestyle

Conway, Kamui and Lopez secured their first Le Mans 24 Hours victory with TOYOTA GAZOO Racing

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing scored themselves a historic and dramatic fourth consecutive Le Mans 24 Hours victory along as the first Hypercar winners at the Circuit de la Sarthe. Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez, in the #7 GR010 HYBRID, started from pole position and led for the majority of the race, completing 371 laps. It was the World Champions first time Le Mans win as well.

The team also faced several dramatic issue where a fuel system issue which threatened to derail the challenge of both cars when it struck in the second half of the race.

On the new GR010 HYBRID’s Le Mans debut, last year’s winners Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Brendon Hartley completed a perfect result for the team, which has now won all four races of the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) so far.

Credit to Toyota and JCN Newswire

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: